top of page

Bear Canyon Trail Loop


 

July 2020

Lake Elsinore, CA

8.64 Miles

Moderate / Hard

 

THIS TRAIL RIGHT HERE! [Insert claps] This trail was my first trail back after a hiking hiatus due to COVID-19 shutdowns. This was also my first time in the Cleveland National Forest. When doing my research I kept thinking I was being rerouted to out-of-state travel information, until I looked on the National Forest Explore app.


This trail is located maybe 10-15 minutes away from Lake Elsinore and is estimated to be a 6.1-mile hike if you stay on the designated trail.

When you arrive in the area, you park across the street from the Ortega Oaks Candy Store. On that side of the street there is another trail, San Juan Loop Trail [added to my to hike-list.] In order to get to the Bear Canyon Loop, cross the street and head west of the candy store sign. You'll see 2 or 3 signs indicating the trailhead.


The first part of the hike is somewhat shaded and the trail is clear. As you get close to where the trail splits, the trees and bush start to take over the trail. At the split, there are signs to lead you in the correct direction of your destination; but I did very little research on the route (not recommended) and end up continuing straight on the route. Luckily the stars were aligned; about 1.25 miles in my instincts started telling me that I was going the wrong way and I surprisingly had signal to check my mobile device for a trail map.


I headed back to the split and headed south towards Sutton (per the sign.) This is where the trail got tough as it was all uphill in direct sunlight. I truly wanted to quit a couple of times, but I wouldn't let myself not complete the hike. After you get through the steep uphill climb, you reach a fork in the trail, which is the loop part of the trail. To the left, the trail would take you 1.5 miles to get to The Four Corners. To the right, the trail will take you 1 mile to The Four Corners. Considering I already got lost, had to backtrack, add 2 miles to my hike, and was exhausted for the climb up, I chose to go the shortest way possible.


At The Four Corners, there are four trails you can hike to. If you take in the landscape the views are pretty cool considering you are in the middle of nowhere. The Four Corners was my turn around point, again I took the short way back instead of making a loop, making my hike back only 3.2 miles back.


I enjoyed this trail overall and would highly recommend it. I went on a Saturday morning and it was crowded enough that I passed maybe 3 small groups coming and going every so often, so I didn't feel completely isolated. I also saw at least 4 solo hikers, which I am always excited to see. I would urge caution on being extra alert of animals within the first 1-2 miles as that area is heavy with brush and I am sure I heard a medium-size animal in the brush on my way back.


Things to Keep In Mind:

  • Very little shade available

  • Would recommend taking a map

  • Watch out for snakes & animals


Pros:

  • Good workout (uphill)

  • Trail clearly marked


Cons:

  • A lot of animal & horse poop on trail

  • Many "hitch hiker" plants along trail




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2018 by Love's Adventures

bottom of page